• Each town to receive €100,000 as part of the Streetscape Initiative
  • Projects to include upgrades to building facades, artwork, murals, lighting, street furniture and canopies
  • Investment to help make our rural towns more colourful, vibrant and attractive places
  • Local authorities to begin advertising immediately; Local businesses and retailers encouraged to apply

Minister for Rural and Community Development, Heather Humphreys TD, has today announced the 26 towns and villages that will benefit from a €2.6 million fund to support the enhancement of streetscapes and shopfronts.

Under the Streetscape Enhancement Initiative, retailers and property owners will be provided with grants that they can use to improve the facades of their buildings, carry out artwork or install features such as street furniture or canopies.

The overall purpose of the Scheme is to give our towns and villages a facelift and make them more attractive places to live, work or visit.

Minister Humphreys today announced the 26 towns that have been selected for funding with each local authority to receive €100,000 as part of the Initiative.

The Minister today urged businesses, property owners and retailers in the 26 towns to apply to their local authority to avail of funding.

The 26 towns due to receive the funding were selected by each local authority in consultation with local businesses and community groups.

Local authorities will manage the initiative locally and will be advertising for applications in the coming weeks.

The initiative is a key part of Our Rural Future and will make our rural towns and villages more vibrant and attractive places to live, work and visit.

The types of projects that could be supported include:

  • Strategic collaboration between property owners to paint buildings and/or shopfronts in vibrant colours
  • Upgrade or restoration of historic / traditional shopfronts
  • Provision of street planting, shrubbery, trees and flowers boxes
  • Installation of canopies
  • Murals/public artwork




The Department of Rural and Community Development Press Office

01-7736843 / 087-1734633

[email protected]


Photo Caption:

Minister for Rural and Community Development, Heather Humphreys TD, standing in front of the Patrick Kavanagh Mural in Carrickmacross, County Monaghan. The project was funded under the Department’s Streetscapes Initiative.

The towns where this measure will be delivered are as follows:

County Council Town
Carlow County Council Bagenalstown
Cavan County Council Ballyconnell
Clare County Council Lisdoonvarna
Cork County Council Bandon
Donegal County Council Lifford
Fingal County Council Rush
Galway County Council Tuam
Kerry County Council Tarbert
Kildare County Council Athy
Kilkenny County Council Callan
Laois County Council Abbeyleix
Leitirm County Council Carrick On Shannon
Limerick County Council Foynes
Longford County Council Granard
Louth County Council Omeath
Mayo County Council Ballyhaunis
Meath County Council Trim
Monaghan County Council Clones
Offaly County Council Clara
Roscommon County Council Ballinlough
Sligo County Council Enniscrone
Tipperary County Council Tipperary Town
Waterford County Council Tallow
Westmeath County Council Kilbeggan
Wexford County Council Enniscorthy
Wicklow County Council Newtownmountkennedy